OnCourse Software
https://www.ocs-support.co.uk/forums/

TGS Display not activating
https://www.ocs-support.co.uk/forums/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=3603
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Badger [ Thu Jun 10, 2021 2:53 pm ]
Post subject:  TGS Display not activating

Hi

Hopefully a quick question.... I can't seem to get my TGS display to work. When accepting taxi instructions, I get a 'Tip' on MSFS advising that Taxi Guidance is active and I can hear taxi instructions as I progress but the display does not activate.

I've attached a log file up to the point that I'm handed off to Tower on my last flight to see if this highlights what I'm missing.

Any help greatly appreciated.

Many thanks

Mike

Attachments:
debug_monitor.rar [49.8 KiB]
Downloaded 3 times

Author:  dmarch [ Thu Jun 10, 2021 4:03 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: TGS Display not activating

So you're using the TGS Display Utility? If so you have to run it as it doesn't activate automatically

Author:  Badger [ Thu Jun 10, 2021 4:41 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: TGS Display not activating

Hi Dave

Yes, I'm using MSFS so using the TGS Display Utility. I open it at the same time that I open PF3, before I've connected to MSFS. The program goes through the initialising process but the display just says 'FS/TGS Not Active'.

Mike

I should say that it used to work ... possibly before the April release.

Author:  dmarch [ Thu Jun 10, 2021 6:01 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: TGS Display not activating

Please ZIP and attach ALL the log files from your PF3\Folder

Author:  Badger [ Thu Jun 10, 2021 6:47 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: TGS Display not activating

Hi Dave

Logs attached from a short flight I just completed between EGNX and EGBB. On this flight, I again had verbal taxi instructions at EGNX but no TGS Display active.

Something else seems to have gone a bit wrong with this flight too as on approach to EGBB I was directed to Runway 27 but EGBB only has 33 or 15 so I made my way round to 33 and landed. I was then instructed to taxi to parking 117. The 'Active Taxi Guidance Tip' appeared on MSFS again but no voice guidance nor display this time. I had to use Little Nav Maps to find Parking #117 and on arriving there, PF3 didn't finish as it usually does.

Anyway, here are the logs which I hope will help explain it.

Mike

Attachments:
Logs.rar [201.38 KiB]
Downloaded 5 times

Author:  dmarch [ Sat Jun 12, 2021 10:58 am ]
Post subject:  Re: TGS Display not activating

This is very strange because everything looks correct in the log files and as you say you can hear the audio instructions. At this point in time TGS is writing to one or our reserved areas of FSUIPC and the TGS Display utility reads it's required data from there. So have you recently started using another addon that's using FSUIPC? I ask in case you have something overwriting the data in our reserved area.

Author:  Badger [ Sat Jun 12, 2021 1:08 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: TGS Display not activating

Thanks Dave

I don't think I have anything else that uses FSUIPC.

I use Neofly but I tried a flight without that yesterday and the same happened. I can't think of anything else that might use fsuipc.

Is there a way of uninstalling the display utility and reinstalling it again to see if that does anything?

Mike

Author:  Badger [ Sat Jun 12, 2021 2:01 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: TGS Display not activating

Hi Dave

I think I've found the solution.

I've been running FSUIPC when I start MSFS by using the MSFSwithFSUIPC7.bat file which runs FSUIPC when MSFS starts. That certainly allows PF3 to work but somehow doesn't allow the TGS Display to work. So. If I run the FSUIPC.exe file and then start MSFS as normal, the TGS display works fine!

Not sure why that should be but I've tested it a couple of times now and it works so I think this problem is solved.

Could you just have a look to see why ATC directed me to runway 27 at egbb when there isn't such a runway as per the logs I attached to my earlier post too please?

Thanks

Mike

Author:  dmarch [ Sat Jun 12, 2021 7:22 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: TGS Display not activating

Quote:
Could you just have a look to see why ATC directed me to runway 27 at egbb when there isn't such a runway as per the logs I attached to my earlier post too please?
That's already been addressed and is in the next release

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC+01:00
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited
https://www.phpbb.com/