Welcome to our Product Support Forums

FDC 'glitches' (?)

Post Reply   Page 1 of 2  [ 18 posts ]
Jump to page 1 2 »
martinlest
Post subject: FDC 'glitches' (?)
Posted: Sun Jan 09, 2011 11:14 am

Dave,

I don't see anywhere to post about possible errors (?) in FDC so I hope it's OK for me to use this thread to report things about FDC that seem not quite right and which could perhaps be corrected in a future update. If it is me who is wrong, I apologise in advance and I hope that whatever posted here won't be seen as a criticism (far from it) of a very nice programme! Also, although I have read through the manuals for FDC I am fairly new to the programme and it may be that some of the things are configurable and I just haven't worked out where and how to do it.

For now, just one item comes to mind. In all aircraft manuals I have read, the pilots turn on the BEACON lights before pushback and the STROBE lights along with the landing lights before entering the runway. FDC has the co-pilot turn on the strobe lights before pushback, instead of the beacon lights, but does nothing about the strobe/landing lights at the runway. Latter no problem of course, I do it manually - but maybe the beacon lights issue could be looked into?? This is the usual procedure I think:

NAV - On at all times, except when parked & shut down for extended periods of time.

Beacon - ON before engine start or pushback whichever is the case, off at engine shutdown.

Taxi - ON just after receiving taxi clearance, but before starting to taxi.

Strobes - Turn on as a/c enters the runway for takeoff, turn OFF as I exit the runway after landing.

Landing lights - Turn on when lined up on the runway for takeoff. Turn off when climbing through 10,000' MSL, or when reaching cruise altitude, whichever is the case. Turn on when descending through 10,000' MSL, or when starting descent if cruising below 10,000'. Turn off again before exiting the runway, once the aircraft has reached a suitable speed.

Thanks,