OnCourse Software

Welcome to our Product Support Forums
It is currently Sun Feb 28, 2021 3:41 am

All times are UTC


PLEASE READ BEFORE POSTING


If you are reporting an issue with PF3 please remember to Zip and attach the Debug_Monitor.log file from your PF3\Logs folder.



Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 30 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Missing text windows
PostPosted: Sun Dec 20, 2020 5:44 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2015 5:48 am
Posts: 44
Hi, I am evaluating PF3 and using the demo mode with MSFS. It installed OK and everything appears OK except that I cannot show any text window, either the ACARS, the Caption window or the Hotkeys window. In my advance options and ini file page for MSFS I have "use PF3 captions window" ticked and hotkeys window ticked. I also have Closed Captions ticked in the main page.

Log files attached.

Any help greatly appreciated.

John


Attachments:
Logs.rar [5.62 KiB]
Downloaded 15 times
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Missing text windows
PostPosted: Sun Dec 20, 2020 11:49 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 6:22 pm
Posts: 4176
Sorry but you didn't include the debug_monitor.log file, only the old_debug_monitor.log, abd in that one the following message was recorded
Quote:
Problem connecting to Flight Sim or Flight Sim/FSUIPC not running!

_________________
Cheers

Dave March

Email: dmarch@oncourse-software.co.uk

Without a log it didn't happen!

Image


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Missing text windows
PostPosted: Mon Dec 21, 2020 2:41 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2015 5:48 am
Posts: 44
Sorry, I'll try again.


Attachments:
Logs.rar [64.82 KiB]
Downloaded 14 times
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Missing text windows
PostPosted: Mon Dec 21, 2020 1:14 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 6:22 pm
Posts: 4176
Okay, looks like I left something out of the Demo installer :oops:

Please download and install again using the same link in the email you received... there's no need to uninstall, just install over the top of the existing installation, then the In-Sim windows should work

_________________
Cheers

Dave March

Email: dmarch@oncourse-software.co.uk

Without a log it didn't happen!

Image


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Missing text windows
PostPosted: Tue Dec 22, 2020 4:15 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2015 5:48 am
Posts: 44
Thanks Dave. Re downloaded demo, now getting ACARS but the PF3 Captions Window and the Hotkey window still do not show up. Log files attached. Many thanks for this.

John


Attachments:
Logs.rar [41.87 KiB]
Downloaded 14 times
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Missing text windows
PostPosted: Tue Dec 22, 2020 11:50 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 6:22 pm
Posts: 4176
Thanks John, for my sanity please change the Caption Window Options to 'Window Always Open' and let me know if there's any change

_________________
Cheers

Dave March

Email: dmarch@oncourse-software.co.uk

Without a log it didn't happen!

Image


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Missing text windows
PostPosted: Tue Dec 22, 2020 12:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2015 5:48 am
Posts: 44
Hi Dave, changed as requested and windows still not showing. BTY, I presume that these windows should appear automatically. I do not need to press a hot key for them to appear do I?

Regards
John.


Attachments:
Logs.rar [18.75 KiB]
Downloaded 15 times
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Missing text windows
PostPosted: Tue Dec 22, 2020 12:28 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 6:22 pm
Posts: 4176
Yes they are automatic.

Try changing captions to show all messages rather than just those from you like you have it set currently.

Also the hotkey window can be toggled using the ctrl+shift+T hotkey and it should go from current available keys to global keys to off, etc

Sent from my mobile using Tapatalk


_________________
Cheers

Dave March

Email: dmarch@oncourse-software.co.uk

Without a log it didn't happen!

Image


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Missing text windows
PostPosted: Tue Dec 22, 2020 12:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2015 5:48 am
Posts: 44
We're half way there. Still no windows but the hot key window works with ctrl+shift+T.

Getting late here in Aussie so will check this in the morning.


Attachments:
Logs.rar [43.54 KiB]
Downloaded 16 times
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Missing text windows
PostPosted: Wed Dec 23, 2020 6:45 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 05, 2015 5:48 am
Posts: 44
Sorry Dave, but still no automatic windows. Have updated MSFS. Is there a hot key I can use to bring up the Caption window?
Thanks in advance.
John


Attachments:
Logs.rar [93.68 KiB]
Downloaded 14 times
Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 30 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited