OnCourse Software

Welcome to our Product Support Forums
It is currently Mon Jan 21, 2019 3:03 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Submarine Departure
PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2018 8:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2018 6:04 pm
Posts: 5
Hi,

I know PF3 doesn't know about terrain, but does it not know about starting field elevation? I ask this because I was given a clearance from KGCN-KSAF (field Elv 6609) to climb to 5000 ft!!!. I created the flt plan in Little Nav Map (only two waypoints, no SIDS or STARS) and I received no errors on selecting the flt plan in PF3. Since I decided I wasn't a submarine, I continued climbing out, and was continually being nagged by ATC to maintain 5000'. Altimeter at the time was 30.22. I tried asking for a climb, and then was told to maintain 15000 (my filed altitude). I never received a climb to 15000, but once I was told to maintain 15000, I was being nagged to maintain that altitude. That continued till I reached 15000, then everything seemed to settle down till the approach phase. I was on freq 124.32 and told to contact approach on 126.5, I responded, via MCE (maybe it did not take?) switched over, got no response, went back to 124.32, was told to go to 126.5, tried again no response, went back to 124.32, then told to go to center 132.8, who again told me to go to approach, 126.5. I finally got a response from approach, and then a pretty much uneventful after that. Just wondering what happened. Again I use MCE so maybe the approach problem got fouled up due to response time or something but the clearance was definitely interesting to say the least. :) Maybe the logs can shed some light on what I may have done wrong. Logs attached.

Thanks in advance,

Tony J


Attachments:
1218Logs.rar [433.74 KiB]
Downloaded 6 times
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Submarine Departure
PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2018 11:03 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 05, 2013 2:22 am
Posts: 496
I don't use Little Navmap but for some reason your flight plan has a departure airport elevation of 0, and an airport waypoint elevation of 6609 (normally these are the same). The elevations match for your final waypoint (which is the destination airport). I'm not sure exactly what the problem is but I think it originated in the flight plan. Maybe someone who uses Little Navmap will be able to provide more info.
Quote:
<Title>KGCN to KSAF</Title>
<FPType>IFR</FPType>
<RouteType>LowAlt</RouteType>
<CruisingAlt>15000</CruisingAlt>
<DepartureID>KGCN</DepartureID>
<DepartureLLA>N35° 57' 32.48",W112° 8' 11.28",+000000.00</DepartureLLA>
<DestinationID>KSAF</DestinationID>
<DestinationLLA>N35° 37' 1.59",W106° 5' 21.93",+006348.00</DestinationLLA>
<Descr>KGCN, KSAF</Descr>
<DeparturePosition>PARKING 7</DeparturePosition>
<DepartureName>Grand Canyon Natl Park</DepartureName>
<DestinationName>Santa Fe Mun</DestinationName>


<ATCWaypoint id="KGCN">
<ATCWaypointType>Airport</ATCWaypointType>
<WorldPosition>N35° 57' 8.50",W112° 8' 49.10",+006609.00</WorldPosition>
<ICAO>
<ICAOIdent>KGCN</ICAOIdent>


<ATCWaypoint id="KSAF">
<ATCWaypointType>Airport</ATCWaypointType>
<WorldPosition>N35° 37' 1.59",W106° 5' 21.93",+006348.00</WorldPosition>
<ICAO>
<ICAOIdent>KSAF</ICAOIdent>

_________________
Image


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Submarine Departure
PostPosted: Wed Dec 19, 2018 7:42 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2018 6:04 pm
Posts: 5
Thanks for the reply Dan77. I believe you are correct. I went back and looked at most of the flight plans that I have created using Little Nav Map and the starting altitude for them all seem to start at 0 elevation. I created the same flight in the FSX flight planner and the correct field elevation appeared on the PF3 adjust altitude page. The funny thing is, in the sim the field elevation shows correctly on the flight plan. I'll see if there devs have seen this issue.

Thanks again and Happy Holidays,

Tony J


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Submarine Departure
PostPosted: Wed Dec 19, 2018 6:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2013 1:27 pm
Posts: 948
You could depart from EHAM (-11 ft) :)

_________________
Image


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Submarine Departure
PostPosted: Fri Dec 21, 2018 10:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2018 6:04 pm
Posts: 5
To those who use Little Nav Map,

From Alex,

Hi Tony,

thank you for the error report. I can reproduce this and it is clearly a bug.

This seems to happen when a parking position is set for departure.

Alex


Tony J


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Submarine Departure
PostPosted: Sat Dec 22, 2018 10:50 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 6:22 pm
Posts: 3544
Thank you for the update

_________________
Cheers

Dave March

Email: dmarch@oncourse-software.co.uk

Without a log it didn't happen!

Image


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Submarine Departure
PostPosted: Mon Dec 24, 2018 11:06 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2016 3:42 pm
Posts: 461
After having similar problems with little nav I now use Flight Sim DB and it usually gives me everything I need to know.

Hope it helps.

John


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited