OnCourse Software

Welcome to our Product Support Forums
It is currently Sat Aug 17, 2019 3:40 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Radio
PostPosted: Thu Nov 08, 2018 1:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2016 3:42 pm
Posts: 472
I find the frequency to use for an airport without a tower ok butI've been struggling to discover the frequency to use for an IFR flight after take-off. Without it, I fly a virtually VFR flight with a controller keeping me to the initial altitude and not providing flight directions etc.

None of the Hotkey buttons seem to cover this scenario so I wondered if there is a secret for you to share please.

John


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Radio
PostPosted: Sun Nov 11, 2018 2:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2018 3:14 pm
Posts: 4
Should be a departure frequency I think, and you might have to use the display utility (it works with p3d where the kneeboard addon won't). This should show available frequencies. The uncontrolled airport I used has duplicate frequencies so the departure frequency was randomized and only available from the display app (and the clearance information from FSS if you missed it on the readout and readback). I think...I'm still working my way around this software.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Radio
PostPosted: Sun Nov 11, 2018 4:06 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2016 3:42 pm
Posts: 472
Hm, well, its all double dutch to me. However, I'm now using 'Little Nav Map' and
Flight Sim Airport Information. Between the two of them I seem to be able to sort out the frequencies I need.

Thanks for your interest jer.

John


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Radio
PostPosted: Sun Nov 25, 2018 3:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2016 3:42 pm
Posts: 472
Many airfields do not have control towers so its necessary to start a flight using the radio. However, in the case of an IFR flight, that will not provide ongoing instructions such as direction and altitude to fly to.

Can someone kindly tell me please (simply 'cos I'm dim) how I can; a) contact the nearest tower and b) open an IFR flight plan with that tower?

Thanks

John


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Radio
PostPosted: Sun Nov 25, 2018 3:34 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 6:22 pm
Posts: 3637
This was taken from the Version History document...
Quote:
ADDED a new procedure for obtaining clearance from FSS when departing from an uncontrolled airport. Here's how it works. Tune to FSS and hit hotkey #0, this is your 'wake up' call to FSS... there could be a delay of up to 30 seconds so be patient, they're not ATC controllers. Once they put their coffee down they will ask you to 'go ahead' at which point, if you're using VCP mode 1, otherwise it will be automatic),you can either hit the 'Roger' hotkey or hotkey #0 again. Your VCP will then provide the necessary details regarding your flight plan to FSS, after which they will clear you as filed, give you an initial altitude and also the frequency for Departure, which of course you should contact asap after takeoff. Obviously this new feature is only available when your are at your departure airport.
And this was taken from the PF3 User Guide...
Quote:
20.3 Uncontrolled Airports
Should you find yourself departing from an uncontrolled airport, without Clearance, Tower or Ground control facilities you could be excused for asking 'how on earth do obtain IFR clearance in such a situation'?
New in PF3 version 3.2.0 we have introduced support for obtaining IFR clearance from FSS. Here's how it works...
First you need to tune to FSS and hit hotkey #0, this is your 'wake up' call to FSS... there could be a delay of up to 30 seconds so be patient, they're not ATC controllers. Once they put their coffee down they will ask you to 'go ahead' at which point, if you're using VCP mode 1, otherwise it will be automatic, you can either hit the 'Roger' hotkey or hotkey #0 again.
On doing so your VCP will provide the necessary details regarding your flight plan to FSS, after which they will clear you as filed, give you an initial altitude and also the frequency for Departure, which of course you should contact asap after takeoff. Obviously this new feature is only available when your are at your departure airport.

_________________
Cheers

Dave March

Email: dmarch@oncourse-software.co.uk

Without a log it didn't happen!

Image


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Radio
PostPosted: Sun Nov 25, 2018 5:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2016 3:42 pm
Posts: 472
Problem is, I've never been able to use FSS. What do you do? Type it in? or Click on it? Neither of these works for me.

John


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Radio
PostPosted: Sun Nov 25, 2018 5:43 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 6:22 pm
Posts: 3637
You dial it in the same as you do for any other ATC facility frequency

_________________
Cheers

Dave March

Email: dmarch@oncourse-software.co.uk

Without a log it didn't happen!

Image


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited