OnCourse Software

Welcome to our Product Support Forums
It is currently Fri Aug 17, 2018 2:52 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 Next
Author Message
 Post subject: TGS at arrival airport
PostPosted: Fri May 25, 2018 2:21 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2016 4:44 pm
Posts: 215
Is the TGS supposed to guide you at the arrival airport to a Gate, because ATC doesn't seem to specify a particular gate after you land?


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri May 25, 2018 2:38 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 05, 2013 2:22 am
Posts: 452
ATC will direct you to a vacant gate. If all gates are occupied, you are simply instructed to taxi to terminal. You can reserve a gate at the airport using PF3's Designated Parking feature, but if you do so, you are directed to that gate even if it is occupied. You can also request a different arrival gate than the gate ATC has assigned after landing, and TGS will guide you there. See the User Guide pp. 66-67 for more info.

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri May 25, 2018 3:27 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2016 4:44 pm
Posts: 215
Thanks....


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri May 25, 2018 3:54 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 05, 2013 2:22 am
Posts: 452
Quote:
You can reserve a gate at the airport using PF3's Designated Parking feature . . .
Sorry, I shouldn't have said "reserve" because you are not really reserving the gate, you are just designating an arrival gate and if you do so, you will be sent there whether it is occupied or not.

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri May 25, 2018 4:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 8:27 pm
Posts: 1161
Location: Yorkshire
If you use AFX 1.08/1.10 or another freeware tool from Lee Swordy you can reserve a particular airline or yours at a given gate number.

As Dan said read that part of manual for further info on it.

_________________
Regards Dave
Forum Moderator

Image
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat May 26, 2018 5:39 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2016 4:44 pm
Posts: 215
I read the info on designated parking in the manual, but am still a bit confused. I have landed at several airports in both the Q400 and NGX. After landing, I contact ground, and the only instruction I get is to taxi to the Ramp. I never get a gate or stand number. Looking around, there are many gates that are empty. This just happened at EGPF, for instance. Now this is one of the airports in the OrbX FTX England package, if that has anything to do with it.

So whenever I fly to a new airport, in order to get instructions to taxi to any gate, and get TGS to activate when ready to taxi ( which it hasn't upon landing so far) , do I have to specify a certain gate before landing?


Attachments:
debug_monitor.zip [523.75 KiB]
Downloaded 6 times
Top
   
PostPosted: Sat May 26, 2018 6:20 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 05, 2013 2:22 am
Posts: 452
Quote:
5/26/2018 12:22:21 PM: 660 - Transcript: 'Ground Easy 6816 Clear of the active runway '
5/26/2018 12:22:31 PM: 200 - No empty gates found!
5/26/2018 12:22:39 PM: 700 - Transcript: 'Easy 6816 taxi to terminal '
Not sure what is happening here but according to the log, PF3 found no empty gates. You don't have the "Gate Parking Only" option selected, so PF3 should send you to a gate or parking area if any are available. The "Taxi to terminal" instruction means PF3 finds no available spots. I'm not sure if this is a scenery issue. In any event, if you are certain a gate is available, you can request taxi to that particular gate after landing, as mentioned above. When you get the "Taxi to terminal" instruction, go to the PF3 main screen and click the Designated Parking button. Type the ICAO code for the airport, hit Enter, and then select the specific gate you want to use. Save the selection and then return to the sim and hit hotkey 5 to request taxi from Ground. You should then get taxi instructions to the specific gate or parking area requested.

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat May 26, 2018 6:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2016 4:44 pm
Posts: 215
Quote:
Quote:
5/26/2018 12:22:21 PM: 660 - Transcript: 'Ground Easy 6816 Clear of the active runway '
5/26/2018 12:22:31 PM: 200 - No empty gates found!
5/26/2018 12:22:39 PM: 700 - Transcript: 'Easy 6816 taxi to terminal '
Not sure what is happening here but according to the log, PF3 found no empty gates. You don't have the "Gate Parking Only" option selected, so PF3 should send you to a gate or parking area if any are available. The "Taxi to terminal" instruction means PF3 finds no available spots. I'm not sure if this is a scenery issue. In any event, if you are certain a gate is available, you can request taxi to that particular gate after landing, as mentioned above. When you get the "Taxi to terminal" instruction, go to the PF3 main screen and click the Designated Parking button. Type the ICAO code for the airport, hit Enter, and then select the specific gate you want to use. Save the selection and then return to the sim and hit hotkey 5 to request taxi from Ground. You should then get taxi instructions to the specific gate or parking area requested.
OK. I will try selecting a parking area next time.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat May 26, 2018 9:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2016 4:44 pm
Posts: 215
Selecting a gate worked.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun May 27, 2018 8:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2016 4:44 pm
Posts: 215
Just flew into KATL which had hundreds of empty gates. Was told to Taxi to the ramp and no TGS. So am I correct in thinking that unless you specify a gate where you want to go to with the PF3 menu, you will never get a Taxi to the gate from ATC, because I have yet to get one ?


Attachments:
debug_monitor.zip [343.92 KiB]
Downloaded 9 times
Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 Next

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited