OnCourse Software

Welcome to our Product Support Forums
It is currently Tue Dec 11, 2018 11:19 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu May 24, 2018 8:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2016 4:44 pm
Posts: 220
I tried a short flight with PF3 today, and kind of gave up on it shortly after takeoff. I was initially cleared to 8000 feet, then after being told to switch to center, was told to resume own navigation. I had filed a flight plan to 24,000 for the Q400 and never received any further instructions to climb higher after reaching 8000 . The only comm with atc that seemed to work was telling PF3 my location, all other hotkeys didn't work, like asking for a higher altitude. Finally I decided to just start climbing to 24,000, and after a couple of thousand feet was told to got back to 8000 feet again. At that point I just quit the flight.

I think I did everything correctly.


Attachments:
debug_monitor.zip [256.69 KiB]
Downloaded 13 times
Top
   
PostPosted: Thu May 24, 2018 10:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2016 4:44 pm
Posts: 220
Second flight, same route, much more successful. I let the co pilot handle comms this time, must have missed something the first time. Only question is on the approach, I was vectored to the ILS for runway 35. I intercepted the localizer and GS perfectly, and then ATC told me to continue a heading that would have taken me past the localizer that I was already locked onto, and also to me to go back to 4500, while I was already descending on the glide-slope and was at about 3700. Is that typical when intercepting the ILS and should the instructions when on the ILS be just ignored?

Other than that, it was an excellent flight with good vectoring to the ILS.


Attachments:
debug_monitor.zip [594.11 KiB]
Downloaded 15 times
Top
   
PostPosted: Fri May 25, 2018 5:11 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 05, 2013 2:22 am
Posts: 487
Quote:
FAFAlt=4000
FAFDist=9
It looks like you have your FAF altitude set at 4000 (Options #2 screen, Advanced Options and INI File Tweaks, Approach section) so ATC will not descend you below 4500 in this case (taking into account the elevation of your destination airport). The default value for the FAF altitude is 3000, and you would have been cleared to descend to 3500.

Also if for whatever reason you find yourself going through the localizer (maybe ATC instructions are a bit late due to system resources or large amount of AI traffic), you can press hotkey 1 to be cleared at pilot's discretion and can then continue with the intercept.

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri May 25, 2018 12:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2016 4:44 pm
Posts: 220
Thanks.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun May 27, 2018 3:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 4:33 pm
Posts: 952
Your original post describes my problem...

viewtopic.php?f=8&t=2845

For reasons I state there, I am 99% sure that this isn't occurring because of a missed instruction (my own thoughts when it first started happening). I wonder if this has only started happening since I decided to use Mode 1 instead of Mode 2. I'd much rather stick with Mode 1 now, so I hope someone can get to the bottom of this.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun May 27, 2018 5:51 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2016 4:44 pm
Posts: 220
I had this happen again this morning using Mode 1, where climb altitude never happened. I don't think I missed any instruction, but I can't decipher the log file to figure it out. I was cleared to initial altitude of 13,000 and that was it, no more altitude changes and my flight plan was for 36,000 which I checked in PF3. Then no hot keys worked after that for altitude changes.


Attachments:
old_debug_monitor.zip [45.45 KiB]
Downloaded 10 times


Last edited by bobsk8 on Sun May 27, 2018 6:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Top
   
PostPosted: Sun May 27, 2018 5:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 4:33 pm
Posts: 952
Yep, exactly the same symptoms as I am getting (though not every flight).


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jun 01, 2018 1:11 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2016 4:44 pm
Posts: 220
Been flying PF3 now for about a week, probably around 25+ flights. Once I ironed out some mistakes I was making, like forgetting to check in after every frequency switch, and acknowledge ATC instructions , every flight has been perfect. I actually was a beta tester for another ATC program, and decided to give PF3 another try once I stopped beta testing due to some issues with my version of P3D. Best decision I ever made. . :D :D


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jun 01, 2018 10:41 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 6:22 pm
Posts: 3522
Thank you for taking the time to post your positive comments. It is much appreciated. :)

_________________
Cheers

Dave March

Email: dmarch@oncourse-software.co.uk

Without a log it didn't happen!

Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jun 01, 2018 11:12 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2013 1:27 pm
Posts: 936
yes, thank you \o/

_________________
Image


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 Next

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited