OnCourse Software

Welcome to our Product Support Forums
It is currently Wed Sep 19, 2018 12:20 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 45 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 5
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Jun 23, 2018 7:26 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 4:33 pm
Posts: 922
Yes, I saw the XXX waypints - as I don't know what XXX represents I don't think there's any way of getting them into a flight plan. For now, I guess I'll continue to add the SID/STAR waypoints into my PF3 flight plan.

We need PF3 for X-Plane Dave! A little project for you for the summer holidays.

(Just kidding!),

Martin


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jun 23, 2018 11:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 05, 2013 2:22 am
Posts: 460
Try for a last waypoint about 25-30 miles out (this is why you got a better result after adding some closer waypoints). This may mean adding some (but not all) of the STAR waypoints to your flight plan. Waypoints too close to the airport can cause problems too.

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jun 24, 2018 11:04 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 4:33 pm
Posts: 922
Thanks Dan. I didn't actually have any problems yesterday with the flight, even though PF3 did warn me some of the waypoints were too close together. I didn't remove any, as they formed part of the STAR.

In future, yes, I can try adding just those waypoints that define the heading, missing out intervening ones when I add them to the PF3 flight plan as 'full waypoints'. I am sure that should work fine.

I now have to create four or five different flight plans for the same flight before I fly: one for PF3, one for X-Plane, one for Little NavMap (containing all the SID/STAR information) and often yet another one for my aircraft's FMC - a number of planes in XP need their own format or adaptation to work properly; I have at least four which need their own adaptation. I guess it's all a labour of love in the end though!

Best wishes,

Martin


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jun 24, 2018 1:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2016 9:29 pm
Posts: 344
Quote:
I now have to create four or five different flight plans for the same flight before I fly: one for PF3, one for X-Plane, one for Little NavMap (containing all the SID/STAR information) and often yet another one for my aircraft's FMC - a number of planes in XP need their own format or adaptation to work properly; I have at least four which need their own adaptation. I guess it's all a labour of love in the end though!
It can be done with a few clicks within LittleNavMap.

Here is what I do:

1. Create a flightplan with Simbrief and export it to the .pln format.
2. Load that plan into LittleNavMap and if necessary adjust it the way you really want to fly it (including SID and STAR if you always know the weather beforehand - isn't that boring btw? ;) ).
3. Export that plan to the .pln format (resp. the X-Plane flightplan format) and to the format for your addon aircraft (LittleNavMap should be supporting most of these by now).
4. Then adjust that plan for the needs of PF3 by adding or removing waypoints if necessary (make sure you reach all PF3 waypoints with your "real" flightplan).
5. Finally export that plan to the .pln format, renaming it ..._PF3.pln.

So you have
a) .pln / X-Plane format for use with the sim and LittleNavMap
b) addon aircraft format for use with the addon aircraft's FMC
c) .pln format for PF3 for use with PF3.

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jun 24, 2018 4:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 4:33 pm
Posts: 922
Thanks! I should have said - yes, I do all that from within LittleNavMap. It's very versatile. I export plans from SimBrief in fms format for XP11 however (easy to re-save them as pln files later - doesn't seem to work so well the other way round?). I save one plan as XP11 format (with all the SID/STAR data) - that's for LittleNavMap. Another in fms 3 format; another as a pln file (for PF3). I also have SimBrief save in one or two other formats for other a/c in X-Plane - txt format for JarDesign a320 & a330 for example.

Not finished yet though: I then have to edit and save the fms plan in other forms to cater for the likes/dislikes of other X-Plane aircraft (e.g., with no altitude data in the plan for the ToLiss a319; with no departure or arrival airports for the X-Craft Embraer.. and so on and so forth!).

I look on it all as part of my flight now, rather than a 'chore', but it can take quite a while planning SID/STARs and editing/saving flight plans before I am ready to fire up X-Plane! I guess it takes me less time than real-world flight planning though, even so...

No, I don't always fly with the same weather. The only important criterion is the wind direction, which I adjust in X-Plane weather options before every flight to match the runways I want to use for departure and arrival. PF3 picks that up and is pretty good at choosing the appropriate runway of course.

Thanks again ;)


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 45 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 5

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited