OnCourse Software

Welcome to our Product Support Forums
It is currently Wed Sep 19, 2018 12:36 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 45 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 5 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon May 28, 2018 9:50 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 4:33 pm
Posts: 922
Do you use the Communications window, where the ATC instructions appear in text form? I can see from that that I have not missed any instructions, so I would think that the same will apply to you.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon May 28, 2018 1:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2016 4:44 pm
Posts: 219
Quote:
Do you use the Communications window, where the ATC instructions appear in text form? I can see from that that I have not missed any instructions, so I would think that the same will apply to you.
Yes. I did check that , and it showed I didn't miss any instructions when I did have a problem.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon May 28, 2018 3:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2016 4:44 pm
Posts: 219
I have done three flights with Mode 1 now, and zero problems. I suspect that even though the commands from ATC show up in the say it again log, if the pilot misses an acknowledgement, after the command, that is what causes a problem. With a great deal of AI traffic and communications, sometimes it is easy to forget to acknowledge the command after you change a setting in the aircraft. That is probably why this problem never shows up in Mode 2, since the ack is always made after the command by ATC is issued. ( Just a theory)


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon May 28, 2018 5:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 4:33 pm
Posts: 922
Not convinced.. I am fairly sure that I didn't miss any instruction to climb, or change frequency. All ATC instructions appear in the communications log, and no such missed instruction is ever present.

And even if one did miss something, why does ATC tell you to go back to the previous flight level when you do start to ascend? Makes no sense. I think best wait till Dave can look at the logs... if it is 'user induced', at least we will know what to do/not do in the future. If it's PF3's doing, then I am sure he will issue a fix with the next update.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon May 28, 2018 8:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 05, 2013 2:22 am
Posts: 460
Quote:
I am afraid this is still happening. I am cleared to a certain flight level, then no more instructions to ascend (the whole flight, if I leave it). After a time I check in with ATC, and the pilot voice says (in this case) 'Out of Flight Level 210 for Flight Level 350'. ATC: 'Roger...'. No such instruction to climb has been given however (verified by onscreen ATC Communication Log).

I took a more careful look at your log for the YSCB-YMHB flight. The log shows you were handed to Control at 20:07:54 (and the frequency was changed at that time):
Quote:
20/05/2018 20:07:54: 950 - Transcript: 'Quantas 7385 Contact CONTROL on 129.5 '
but according to the log your first check-in with Control was at 20:16:06:
Quote:
20/05/2018 20:16:06: 760 - Transcript: 'CONTROL Quantas 7385 with you out of Flight Level 210 for Flight Level 350 '
The log shows no use of hotkey 0 or check-in between those times. At 20:12:21 Control told you to resume own navigation (you were tuned to the correct frequency) and you responded, but there was still no check-in until 20:16:06. The lack of a check-in before you reached your first clearance altitude may be the reason for the missing climb instructions. Maybe for some reason your check-in hotkey wasn't detected. Be sure to check in and get a response from ATC. (This would also explain why there are no problems when using Mode 2.)

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon May 28, 2018 8:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 4:33 pm
Posts: 922
I'll keep testing this... I don't see how I could be more vigilant, I have replied to everything that came up on the COM window in good time, (I thought), but I'll double/triple check. May just opt for Mode 2 after I take off if I can't 'fix' this... not the end of the world.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2018 6:36 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 05, 2013 2:22 am
Posts: 460
One thing I forgot to mention: In Modes 0 and 1 there is a known bug whereby Departure will respond as soon as the frequency is changed to Departure frequency, without the need to check in first by pressing hotkey 0. This is a bug and has been discussed on the Beta forum, and will hopefully be fixed at some point. This only affects contact with Departure, and for the other frequencies (including handoffs to Center/Control) you need to be sure to press hotkey 0 to check in after being handed off. (This does not apply when using Mode 2 or 3.)

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2018 10:40 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 4:33 pm
Posts: 922
Yes, there is also the bug in Mode 1 (not sure about 0) that ATC assigns an arrival runway and the pilot goes right ahead and confirms it, with no user input. If you want to change runway, you have to ask (but I now can't, as per this thread:

viewtopic.php?f=8&t=2893

Dave M knows about this and said it'll be fixed in the next update.

I think until some definitive explanation comes from Dave, I am going to switch to Mode 2 after take-off. No point keeping to Mode 1 after that, given that the pilot acknowledges the landing runway automatically, I intermittently get this 'no climb instructions from ATC' problem, and change arrival runway isn't working (and it did up until 2 or 3 weeks ago, which deepens the mystery! I can't suddenly have become more careless in that short time!).


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2018 12:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2016 4:44 pm
Posts: 219
I did over a half dozen short flights yesterday with Mode 1, making sure I acknowledged as well as contacting new controller when freq was switched, and had zero problems. I am now convinced that the problem with instructions stopping that I had a few times , in Mode 1 was pilot error on my part.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2018 1:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 4:33 pm
Posts: 922
Well, that would be good, to know where the problem lies, but I have also run a dozen or so flights with no issue, and then the same thing happens all of a sudden. Looking at the communication log on those occasions, no change of frequency was issued that I didn't act upon (I know, because my reply very shortly after is also there to read) and certainly no climb instruction. But I'll keep going with the 'tests'.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 45 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 5 Next

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited