OnCourse Software

Welcome to our Product Support Forums
It is currently Sat Oct 20, 2018 11:27 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Two Questions, Requests
PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2018 9:52 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2015 11:33 am
Posts: 59
Hello everyone,

flying from KASE to KDFW yesterday, I encountered a couple of issues. Not sure if they were partly my fault. Here we go:

- Clearance cleared me to an initial altitude of 4000. Aspen sits almost twice as high, so I couldn't comply. This has happened to me at least twice.

That led to ATC bugging me to maintain 4000 until I was able to manually ask for my cruising altitude, which wasn't possible until after I changed Center facility (to Albuquerque Center) the first time. Before that, PF3 simply didn't react to my requests. Didn't get that hand-off, either - ATC went silent, and I changed freqs manually. Probably a follow-up issue of me not digging through the mountains at 4000.

- As always, Departure contacted me right after frequency change, before I could even PTT.

- A number of times, ATC gives an AI aircraft the altimeter setting, only to have it read back with a decimal value changed:
"Airline 1234, descend 1 2 thousand, altimeter 30.25"
"Descend 1 2 thousand on 30.26, Airline 1234"
Edit: Found one:
Quote:
Roger November 7740 Sierra Continue present heading Altimeter is 3017
3018 November 7740 Sierra



I furthermore have two feature requests:

- Pausing ATC not for a pre-defined amount of time after the first press of PTT / the game key, but during the time the PTT is held down, as this can be longer or shorter than the pre-defined value. Plus, PF3 doesn't seem to react quickly enough to the game key, as I am often talked over, with a small pause following the AI's transmission.

- The end of a SID can't be the beginning of a STAR in PF3. I do think this can happen in the real world.

Kind regards,

Dimitrios


Attachments:
PF3_Logs_2018-02-11_20-04.zip [825.49 KiB]
Downloaded 29 times
Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2018 2:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2016 9:29 pm
Posts: 363
Quote:
- Pausing ATC not for a pre-defined amount of time after the first press of PTT / the game key, but during the time the PTT is held down, as this can be longer or shorter than the pre-defined value.
You can try assigning the PTT key to a button and activate "Key press to repeat while held" in FSUIPC and see if that works better for you.
Quote:
Plus, PF3 doesn't seem to react quickly enough to the game key, as I am often talked over, with a small pause following the AI's transmission.
Happens to me a lot too. I guess it is because the AI transmission process has already started in the background somehow. Don't know if that can be improved.

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2018 2:54 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2015 11:33 am
Posts: 59
Quote:
You can try assigning the PTT key to a button and activate "Key press to repeat while held" in FSUIPC and see if that works better for you.
Interesting idea. I'll try setting the time-out to 1 second and having FSUIPC press the game key every second as long as I'm holding down the PTT.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2018 3:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2016 9:29 pm
Posts: 363
Quote:
Quote:
You can try assigning the PTT key to a button and activate "Key press to repeat while held" in FSUIPC and see if that works better for you.
Interesting idea. I'll try setting the time-out to 1 second and having FSUIPC press the game key every second as long as I'm holding down the PTT.
Not to adorn myself with borrowed plumes, it was ThomasAH's idea on the Beta Forum some time ago ;-). But I never tried it so far because I am quite happy with a setting of 8 seconds.

Let us know how that works for you.

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2018 8:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 05, 2013 2:22 am
Posts: 474
Maybe the problems you experienced were because your flight plan had the cruise altitude as 350, not 35000.
Quote:
title=KASE to KDFW
description=KASE, KDFW
type=IFR
routetype=3
cruising_altitude=350
departure_id=KASE, N39* 13.18',W106* 52.05',+000000.00
departure_position=
destination_id=KDFW, N33* 32.09',W97* 49.16',+000000.00

According to the log, all of your waypoints (except the one you changed to 15000) have an altitude of 350, so the ARTCC or control-sector handoffs weren't generated properly, which is probably why ATC was not responsive.
Quote:
[WP4]
sWPID=BGD
sWPType=I
sWPLat=035.80
sWPLon=-101.38
sWPCtr=01
sWPSec=08
sWPFreq=132.65
sWPAlt=350
Dist=370

[WP5]
sWPID=HEATR
sWPType=I
sWPLat=034.82
sWPLon=-099.84
sWPCtr=28
sWPSec=48
sWPFreq=126.77
sWPAlt=350
Dist=466
If you load the flight plan in PF3 and check the waypoint page (no need to have FS running to do this), the waypoint altitudes probably all show 350 instead of 35000. Try the flight with cruising altitude 35000 and see if that works.

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Feb 12, 2018 9:32 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2015 11:33 am
Posts: 59
Quote:
Maybe the problems you experienced were because your flight plan had the cruise altitude as 350, not 35000.
What the... :shock: Yeah, ok, guess that could be the reason :lol: Thanks.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited