OnCourse Software

Welcome to our Product Support Forums
It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 4:23 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Nov 19, 2017 4:39 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2016 3:42 pm
Posts: 321
I've just landed at LIRF Fumicino, Rome and while the aircraft made the correct directions for the runway, it quickly became apparent that it was not losing altitude so I had to land manually. That was ok, but If I'm on ILS I expect the aircraft to more or less put itself down for me.

Any ideas anyone please? Incidentally, the aircraft was the Embraer 550.

Many thanks.

John


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Nov 20, 2017 9:38 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 27, 2009 8:41 pm
Posts: 950
Location: LIMZ
Quote:
I've just landed at LIRF Fumicino, Rome and while the aircraft made the correct directions for the runway, it quickly became apparent that it was not losing altitude so I had to land manually. That was ok, but If I'm on ILS I expect the aircraft to more or less put itself down for me.

Any ideas anyone please? Incidentally, the aircraft was the Embraer 550.

Many thanks.

John
That is not enough information. So we would need to see your log in zip form. In any case once you are on the glide slope only a combination of you and the aircraft autopilot will make the correct decisions for the let down. Neither PF3 nor real ATC will issue any instructions during that phase other than a speed control, landing clearance or a go-around. We will also need to see in zip form the contents of the FPP directory found in the flight directory. We can then check for any problems with your original flight plan. Most commonly users have a fpl that is too high at the arrival point because they don't take into account height and speed restrictions during the approach phase.

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Nov 20, 2017 4:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2016 3:42 pm
Posts: 321
Thanks for that information Voliberista. I think you've solved it for me. I was a bit slow in getting to the required altitude. I've just done another flight and found I again simply didn't get down quickly enough to catch the Altitude ILS requirement but this time I recognised the problem and did a 'go-around' making sure I got to the beginning of the glide slope in time.

Then it worked.

Thanks again.

John


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited