OnCourse Software

Welcome to our Product Support Forums
It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 4:15 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Runway numbering
PostPosted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 5:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2016 3:42 pm
Posts: 321
Only on a couple occasions recently, I've noticed a discrepancy in the runway numbers given by the SID & STARS section and the runway marked on the tarmac and recorded by the flight sim addon modelers. It's only by one number, say 26 instead of 27 or something like that. Is this a problem with PF3 or the model of the airport do you know?

If it's PF3, let me know and when I come across it in future, I can report it to you for correction in a future up-date.

John


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Runway numbering
PostPosted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 5:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 24, 2013 1:27 pm
Posts: 850
PF3 just reads the runway data generated by makerwys, which in turn is read from the airport scenery of your flight simulator.
So if you did all the steps of rebuilding PF3's database after your last scenery update, the scenery probably has new runway headings, but old textures for the runway numbers.
This regularly happens when you use updated navigation data, e.g. from http://www.aero.sors.fr/navaids3.html or fsAerodata, but can also happen with other updated Afcad files.

_________________
Image


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Runway numbering
PostPosted: Wed Nov 15, 2017 6:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 27, 2009 8:41 pm
Posts: 950
Location: LIMZ
Quote:
Only on a couple occasions recently, I've noticed a discrepancy in the runway numbers given by the SID & STARS section and the runway marked on the tarmac and recorded by the flight sim addon modelers. It's only by one number, say 26 instead of 27 or something like that. Is this a problem with PF3 or the model of the airport do you know?

If it's PF3, let me know and when I come across it in future, I can report it to you for correction in a future up-date.

John
Is this not mainly a problem between magdec and scenery? Whatever is written on the tarmac frequently differs from the ATC declared direction. PF3 picks up all its info from runways.csv. So if it's wrong there PF3 will of course repeat the error.
What I would suggest is to look carefully at the offending runways you have mentioned to see if there is indeed a discrepancy between the magdec direction and the actual rwy markings. If you have DXTbmp you can easily change the runway markings if they are wrong. Otherwise it would be a change in magdec.

_________________
Image


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Runway numbering
PostPosted: Thu Nov 16, 2017 3:57 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2016 3:42 pm
Posts: 321
Ok-thanks fellers. Next time I come across it I'll let you know as well as the airport designer. I know the Scottish one's are all ok because I beta tested the airports addons for both Arm Computers and Scotflight. I can't speak for UK2000 because Norman Dean looked after those for Gary Summons.

Goodness knows who had a hand in the Photo Scenery I've got for the United States and the rest of Europe where I've also had a couple of discrepancies in the past.

It's really nothing to worry about except it can make a small complication with ILS landings.

John


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Runway numbering
PostPosted: Thu Nov 16, 2017 8:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 27, 2009 8:41 pm
Posts: 950
Location: LIMZ
Quote:
Ok-thanks fellers. Next time I come across it I'll let you know as well as the airport designer. I know the Scottish one's are all ok because I beta tested the airports addons for both Arm Computers and Scotflight. I can't speak for UK2000 because Norman Dean looked after those for Gary Summons.

Goodness knows who had a hand in the Photo Scenery I've got for the United States and the rest of Europe where I've also had a couple of discrepancies in the past.

It's really nothing to worry about except it can make a small complication with ILS landings.

John
Don't forget if you have to renumber any runway scenery that N. America omits the zero in front of runway headings less than 100deg. Eg. 9 instead of 09 which is used by the rest of the World.

_________________
Image


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited