OnCourse Software

Welcome to our Product Support Forums
It is currently Mon Oct 15, 2018 9:32 am

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: X-plane ATC
PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2016 8:30 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2012 7:32 am
Posts: 17
Can PF3 simulate atc chatter with AI traffic in X-plane just like it does for FSX? I know it can't control AI but I remember it would be able to "fake" ATC chatter seeing the AI traffic's movements.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: X-plane ATC
PostPosted: Mon Nov 28, 2016 9:35 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 6:22 pm
Posts: 3479
I'm afraid I'll have to let an X-Plane user answer that one. I see absolutely no reason why it shouldn't work but I don't have X-Plane... hopefully someone who does may be along shortly to give you a definitive answer

_________________
Cheers

Dave March

Email: dmarch@oncourse-software.co.uk

Without a log it didn't happen!

Image


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: X-plane ATC
PostPosted: Thu Jun 07, 2018 11:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2017 5:27 am
Posts: 1
At least in my setup, with XP11, I seem to be alone in the skies; no radio chatter except comms with my own plane.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: X-plane ATC
PostPosted: Fri Jun 15, 2018 4:14 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2018 3:51 am
Posts: 2
Hi

In my setup I have WT3 for my traffic.
In order to get PF3 to recognize AI traffic in Xplane.

First go the Xplane menu
1) Select Flight
2) Flight Configuration
3) Midway toward the top, you will see AI Aircraft and select.

4) You want to add the aircraft from a list of aircraft, in the case of WT3 find the one that said AIplane.
5) Then select done.

I have about 19 AI planes in the setup. They are all the same because WT3 takes over the use of the Al aircraft.

When you fly you will see the air traffic on your radar and you will alert you. You will hear communication to and from the AI Aircraft when you are in the air.

They only thing I have not figure out, is why you don't hear an chatter on the ground.

Hope this helps

Bob


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: X-plane ATC
PostPosted: Tue Jul 03, 2018 2:28 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 4:33 pm
Posts: 939
Quote:
You want to add the aircraft from a list of aircraft, in the case of WT3 find the one that said AIplane.
My drop-down box only shows Laminar aircraft. How do you get to WT3 (which I have installed, of course)?


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: X-plane ATC
PostPosted: Mon Sep 24, 2018 8:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2018 3:51 am
Posts: 2
Quote:
Quote:
You want to add the aircraft from a list of aircraft, in the case of WT3 find the one that said AIplane.
My drop-down box only shows Laminar aircraft. How do you get to WT3 (which I have installed, of course)?
martinlest

I am sorry it has taken this long to respond to this post. I just saw the email that notified me of your reply. Again sorry for the slow responds.

It should be a check box "Show aircraft with out AI support" If that is check it should show all other aircraft that is loaded in the sim.
Look AIplane which will be the "other" category.
Other planes will have next to it, Laminar Research, Flight Factor or whatever brand that it was made from.
You don't want any of them.

You want only AIplane that is associated with "other"

Hope this helps

Bob


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: X-plane ATC
PostPosted: Sat Sep 29, 2018 10:18 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2011 6:27 pm
Posts: 17
Does this actually work? I didn't think the program would be able to see AI Traffic in X-Plane, because it's handled differently than FSX. I'm still using PFE with FS9 and FSX, but I'm also able to use it with XP11 with that nifty plug-in utility. (Thank goodness, because the default ATC is awful.)

I do have World Traffic 3, but everything is quiet unless ATC is talking to me directly.

There is a wonderful program that I stumbled across called X-ATC-Chatter, which plays sound files collected from liveatc.net. What's nice is that they are organized by the type of radio signal they would be on (tower, ground, center, etc.). So whenever you change your radio from Ground to Tower, you'll hear real chatter that was taking place on a tower frequency. Although it fills in all of those gaps of silence when flying, neither program is aware of each other so they will at times chatter at the same time. I find it to be a happy compromise.

The ATC chatter is interesting. I hear a lot of stuff that had me asking why certain, un-related conversations were on certain frequencies. It sure added a whole new feel to my flights, that's for sure!

_________________
Image


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: X-plane ATC
PostPosted: Sat Sep 29, 2018 5:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 4:33 pm
Posts: 939
Quote:
I am sorry it has taken this long to respond to this post. I just saw the email that notified me of your reply. Again sorry for the slow responds.
Not to worry at all! Happens to all of us...
Quote:
There is a wonderful program that I stumbled across called X-ATC-Chatter
Sounds very interesting (no pun intended). I am going to find it (hopefully!) and give it try..


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: X-plane ATC
PostPosted: Sun Sep 30, 2018 9:07 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2011 6:27 pm
Posts: 17
Quote:
It should be a check box "Show aircraft with out AI support" If that is check it should show all other aircraft that is loaded in the sim.
Look AIplane which will be the "other" category.
Other planes will have next to it, Laminar Research, Flight Factor or whatever brand that it was made from.
You don't want any of them.

You want only AIplane that is associated with "other"
So, I just did a flight in XP11. I found exactly what you were referring to. There are a couple listed under "Other". One of them was "World Traffic" and the other was "C150". I just added the "World Traffic". PFE didn't see them, though. I heard no chatter coming from them. Now maybe it's because I'm using ProFlight Emulator and not ProFlight 3, but I figured both were ultimately the same. There was definitely AI Traffic, though. I was flying outside of Chicago, and there were planes everywhere. I was going to smaller airports, but the radar showed them all over the place outside of that - especially around of O'Hare, as you would expect.

_________________
Image


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited