OnCourse Software

Welcome to our Product Support Forums
It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 1:25 pm

All times are UTC+01:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next
Author Message
 Post subject: PF3 Randomizer 2
PostPosted: Sun Apr 10, 2016 10:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2016 12:23 am
Posts: 69
Image

Gents, Randomizer 2 is ready.

Download Links
  1. Randomizer 2 and INI file for customisation
  2. Manual
  3. Sample Presets
Basic Description

Randomizer is a free utility that (pseudo)randomly sets the above shown PF3 options for some (controlled) degree of uncertainty. It also gives you the possibility to use SIDs/STARs names for creating variable ‘naming systems’, which can include not only names of procedures, but also additional instructions.

You can find a more detailed description in the Manual linked above, along with complete instructions and examples of usage.

What's New in Version 2.0
  • Complete customisation of probabilities and names
  • Presets
  • Variables
  • More detailed information messages
  • Manual — this was the most difficult thing :)
Enjoy!

Roman Heriban


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: PF3 Randomizer 2
PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2016 5:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 10:53 am
Posts: 15
Hi Roman
Thanks for your efforts.
I haven't fired up the program yet but am reading the manual.
It looks like a great deal of variability is possible!
However-a comprehensive listing of the abbreviations used for the strings and the precise way to use the $ in a string would be useful.
Kind regards
Jay


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: PF3 Randomizer 2
PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2016 6:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2016 12:23 am
Posts: 69
I did some minor corrections in the Manual a couple of hours after release. Please check if you have the latest version of the document, which is 2.0d and, eventually, redownload it from the original link. Thank you.
Roman


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: PF3 Randomizer 2
PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2016 6:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2016 12:23 am
Posts: 69
Quote:
First of all thank you very much for your hard work. It is a great idea.
I am quite novice as far as presets are concerned and i dont want to mess up anything.
I am bit unclear regarding creating and storing presets.
When i open randomizer.ini file on notepad i see default template with blank preset.
Once i populate fields of INIpreset and SID STAR preset, do i just save it? It will overwrite original ini file.
How do i store it as preset file which is separate from original?

Can you guide me

Thanks
Ash
Thank you, Ash!

As for Presets:
  1. First of all, don't be afraid to experiment. I programmed Randomizer so that it cannot be broken :) And it will never put something invalid to PF3.ini.
  2. This is an example of a Preset named YSSY used for STAR:

    [YSSY STAR]

    Probability=100

    DefaultName=BIB3A

    Name1=BIB3V
    Name2=BIB3V
    Name3=BIB3V
    Name4=BIB3P
    Name5=BIB3Z
  3. You fill it with your own data and put it to the original INI file (PF3randomizer.ini).
  4. To tell Randomizer to use it, just enter its name to the field STARpreset, i.e. STARpreset=YSSY.
  5. Save INI file. Randomizer will use Preset YSSY for STAR.
If you wish, you can keep your Presets in a separate INI file, e.g. My Presets.ini. You then enter the name of this file to the field INIpreset (INIpreset=My Presets) and Randomizer will look for Presets there.

Is it more clear now? If not or if you have any other question, always feel free to ask ;)

Roman


Last edited by sbsim on Mon Apr 11, 2016 7:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
 Post subject: Re: PF3 Randomizer 2
PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2016 7:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2016 12:23 am
Posts: 69
Quote:
Hi Roman
Thanks for your efforts.
I haven't fired up the program yet but am reading the manual.
It looks like a great deal of variability is possible!
However-a comprehensive listing of the abbreviations used for the strings and the precise way to use the $ in a string would be useful.
Kind regards
Jay
Thank you, Jay, I wish you a lot of fun reading the Manual! :)

Variability causes complexity, but it's actually less complicated than it seems. Dollar sign tells Randomizer that the next character is a variable. At the moment, Randomizer recognizes three variables ($d, $h, $s) and they are described in details on Page 7 of Manual.

As for abbreviations, you can use anything you like, there are no rules or limits. What's important is that you understand the instructions that you prepared for yourself ;)

Roman


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: PF3 Randomizer 2
PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2016 7:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2015 10:12 am
Posts: 34
Dear Roman
Thanks for your instructions. I could manage to create Preset file and guide randomizer to read it. I created a smaple SID and STAR preset. When i run randomizer, it recognises SID but for STAR it says none or not recongnised and default SP will be used. Unfortunaely, I can attache ini file to thispost hence i have copied my preset for you to look at. Can you suggest where am i going wrong?

Thanks
Ash

[EGLL SID]

Probability=95
;Percentage probability of a SID clearance (as opposed to vectoring):

DefaultName=DET

Name1=DET0A
Name2=DET0A
Name3=DET0A
Name4=DET0A
Name5=DIR2W$d(2,4)
Name6=DET0A
Name7=DIRAA4000
Name8=DIRAA5000
Name9=
Name10=


[OMDB30 DESDI STAR]

Probability=95
;Percentage probability of a STAR clearance (as opposed to vectoring).

DefaultName=DESDI8D

Name1=DIR2BUBOK
Name2=DIR2BUBOK
Name3=VELARULDOT
Name4=DB509DB504
Name5=DB509DB504
Name6=VELARULDOT
Name7=DB509DB504
Name8=VELARULDOT
Name9=
Name10=


[OMDB12 DESDI STAR]

Probability=95
;Percentage probability of a STAR clearance (as opposed to vectoring).

DefaultName=DESDI8A

Name1=DIR2BOVET
Name2=DIR2BOVET
Name3=DB427ALNET
Name4=DB427ALNET
Name5=DB427ALNET
Name6=DB426DB420
Name7=TULOMREREK
Name8=DIR2DB417
Name9=
Name10=


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: PF3 Randomizer 2
PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2016 7:39 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2016 12:23 am
Posts: 69
Ash, I also need to see the [Presets] section of your PF3randomizer.ini.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: PF3 Randomizer 2
PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2016 7:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2015 10:12 am
Posts: 34
INIpreset=B777
SIDpreset=EGLL
STARpreset=OMDB

Best wishes
Ash


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: PF3 Randomizer 2
PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2016 8:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2016 12:23 am
Posts: 69
Quote:
INIpreset=B777
SIDpreset=EGLL
STARpreset=OMDB

Best wishes
Ash
Ash, you have to enter the whole name of the Preset: STARpreset=OMDB30 DESDI or STARpreset=OMDB12 DESDI.
Roman


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: PF3 Randomizer 2
PostPosted: Mon Apr 11, 2016 9:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2015 10:12 am
Posts: 34
Dear Roman
Thanks for information but that will mean that we have to decide STAR and landing runway well before flight begins which is difficult especially on long haul flights.
In document page 10, it appears as if we can have separate preset for each runway and a correct transition will be picked up depending on final runway assignment ( first possibility).
Is it possible to do that and if so how can we do it?

Best wishes
Ash


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next

All times are UTC+01:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited